Can’t Sleep…

and I know why…I was supposed to work an overnighter today but I got a call that the store is without power. I couldn’t be happier for having the night off but since I had planned to go in, I started drinking coffee later in the day and viola…I am WIDE awake at 1am!!! I volunteered to go in after I take the kiddos to school but now seriously, I am not sure how I will feel in the morning.

So after cleaning the boy’s room up (or almost done cleaning it), I sit here playing online. Found some really great stuff too!!!

I found this awesome blog…The Toy Society and LOVE the concept here. The girl was still awake when I was looking at the blog and after explaining it to her she wants to do this!!!

Here is a little description from their blog – The Toy Society spreads love throughout the streets of the world. Nothing to it really just a bunch of handmade toys looking for a nice home. What started as a small street art project in Australia is slowly spreading around the world. Should you come across a member of The Toy Society on your travels collect them up and take them home with you! But don’t forget to let us know about it here.

Another find tonight was a lapbook. So from what I have been reading these are big with homeschoolers. I am excited to make these with the kids. The possibilities are endless…we participate in the summer reading program at school and we can make these on the books we read. We have a garden each year…we can chart the stuff we grow, we can put stuff we learn about the plants life cycle, do experiments, etc. SO VERY EXCITING!!! I need to go buy some file folders for this project!!!

And the last thing I will share this morning…Unplug Your Kids. Renee over at Scrapadilly is doing the Unplug Project this week. I started reading up on it and it is a great concept! I really can’t guarantee that as a family we can do this because my hubby often has to check work emails and such each evening. Plus he and the neighbor have an online business that often needs tending too. BUT I really would like to start doing the themed projects with the kids. They post a theme and you are supposed to do an activity related to that theme. VERY COOL! I honestly want to start  doing something like this once a week with some of the past themes. I think it will be good for the kids to watch less tv/less time playing wii and it will create awesome family time!!!

So I guess that my insomnia has brought good things my way. I am excited to create and get the kids creating with these awesome ideas. Check back to see the stuff we create!!!

~Shannon

Leave a Reply

